Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is the day where I look myself in the mirror, and ask “Am I good enough for my dreams?” I dream big, and I work hard, but I am seeing a trend that I want to bring to a screeching halt. It is a trend of doing a lot, but not doing enough of the right things. Working very hard, and yet being lazy about the things that matter most!

This is a post of self-criticism that I hope you can take for yourself, and become a greater business person – as it has made me greater. 

What are the right things to be doing? What is your most valuable work? These are the questions you need to constantly be asking yourself. This is a very important part of staying focused. It is easy to get lost answering all the email, and getting creative with your social media. But in reality, the most important work will bring great value to your customers, and work toward fulfilling your mission. 

My MISSION: Your Business Allies is committed to growing small businesses and the careers of talented individuals in the city of Jacksonville, by giving valuable advice, ground-breaking ideas and organizing and executing actions toward their goals.

So I have to ask myself, what am I doing for the small businesses and talented individuals in Jacksonville?? Am I doing all that I possibly can to make them successful?

And since that answer is definitely NO, the next question is: What can I do RIGHT NOW to help those that it is my MISSION to help?

Now this is a powerful way to re-focus and re-prioritize.

I could ask myself with every task, what will this do to help my customers and help fulfill my mission? Am I wasting my time?

I leave you with a few quotes that really resonated with me on this subject:

“You can’t make footprints in the sands of time by sitting on your butt. And who wants to leave buttprints in the sands of time?” 
― Bob Moawad

“Didn’t they realize that the only way to change things was to act?” 
― Tamora Pierce

“Many people fail, not because they don’t have what it takes, but because they don’t use what they already have.” -Craig Harper

